Oatmeal diet snack

Trying to lose weight is one of my most painful issue recently since I am such a sweet-tooth, and also some members in my family have diabetes. Here is such what we all need, I suppose… This kind of snack is like protein bar or energy bar. But I try to keep it at the highest healthy level by using all healthy ingredients.

Ingredients

  • Rolled oats
  • Dried fruits, any kind
  • Nuts, chopped, any kind
  • Skimmed milk
  • Egg, lightly beaten
  • Honey
  • A pinch of salt
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla extract (optional – sorry, haha, I am addicted to the smell of vanilla)

I figure out that the snacks turn out pretty well with this below ratio

Per 100gr:

1 rolled oats : 1 dried fruits : 1 chopped nuts : 1 skimmed milk : 1 egg : 1/4 honey

If you are vegetarian, you can use 50 ml milk instead of 1 egg. About those above little heroes for my always-hungry stomach, I used dried cranberries, almond, peanut, both milk and egg. I think eggs give better texture than no-egg recipe. You just need to do few simple steps:

  • Use a medium scoop, scoop the batter onto the silpat or prepared pan.
  • Bake at 350 degree in 12-15 minutes or until golden.

These cuties are soft and chewy and not really sweet, you know, very little honey and natural sweet from fruits.. I want mine more crispy so after first 10 minutes, I reduce to 300 degree and baked for 15 minutes more. This is also my at-desk breakfast with 3 lil ones and a glass of milk. I hope you like it!

With love,

Boo

Leave a Reply

